top of page

What I've Been Up To

Hello!

Part of this blog is intended to share my experiences with the nonprofits that I'm currently working with. Most of my partnerships have stemmed from class assignments, and some even led to internships (F.A.R.M. Cafe summer of 2015, The Children's Playhouse summer of 2016). I have learned a great deal from all and urge everyone to get to know a nonprofit in their community! So, here is what I've been up to with my community partners. I've broken it up into three parts so that y'all aren't overwhelmed ;)

Blue Ridge Women in Agriculture

This is an example of a partnership for an assignment for my Principles of Fundraising course. Blue Ridge Women in Agriculture is another 501(c)(3) nonprofit serving the High Country, with its office in the heart of Boone, N.C. Starting as a grassroots project in 2003, BRWIA was founded by a group of women gardeners, farmers, and agriculture supporters who were looking for a space to network and share resources and information with each other.

Dr. Christina May, professor of the

course, requires students to conduct a complete fund raiser with a community nonprofit partner. My group would find out shortly after being partnered with BRWIA that we would be raising funds for their (along with the Watauga County Farmer's Market) Double Bucks program and not the organization itself.

My group partnered with Appalachian Mountain Brewery and held a Pints for Profit fundraiser last week, where we sold koozies and took donations for Double Bucks. This project has resulted in excellent portfolio material, such as social media PR samples and a complete fundraising plan.

Best,

Colette

P.S.

Who knew I would miss blogging?! Sorry I haven't been posting regularly...second semester senior year is tough! I am falling into a rhythm, however, so a schedule is soon to come :)

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
bottom of page