top of page

Tips for Incoming College Freshmen


Studying with a friend is one of the best ways to make hours in the library less painful!

Few people can probably claim that they were completely prepared for the transition into college. Entering Appalachian State University as a freshman, I felt about as ready as one could possibly feel for the academic jump from high school to higher education. After my first semester, I had already compiled a mental list of what I wish I could tell those soon following in my footsteps. So, in the spirit of impending graduation, here are the top three things that I wish I had learned before entering college:

1. Do go to office hours.

Professors are your biggest allies. At least at my high school, teachers were authority figures with which tension existed. School was mandatory, and students seemed to know that they would have to work and communicate with them without choice. In college, required communication is nonexistent. Your academic choices become completely yours, and if you wish to never communicate with a professor, that is your choice (though in many instances this will affect your grade).

Building relationships with professors is the best step towards doing well in a class. Professors teach hundreds of students throughout their career, and those who do not stand out or make themselves stand out can be easily forgotten. Professors hold the key to your success in class, and this should NEVER be forgotten. I have found that even in subjects that I am poor in, it is still possible to get a good grade simply by staying in touch with the instructor. Almost every professor has connections in their field, and I have heard many cases of students landing jobs through cultivating professional and appropriately personal relationships within their department.

2. Don’t be ashamed of using a tutor.

My grades were not that stellar my freshman year. Going to a liberal arts school, I found myself in courses that did not align with my strengths (cough Geology cough cough). I saw myself struggling and felt that I just needed to work harder on my own. When I found myself re-taking a course sophomore year I realized I could not thoroughly understand the material on my own. So I set my ego aside and found myself a tutor.

Appalachian State University has a wonderful tutoring center where you are matched with a student whose strength lies in the subject you are seeking help in. Typically you will meet with them once a week and will review that week’s topic. Some students feel that they do not have time for this, but that hour with your tutor takes place of an hour of studying you would do on your own- and you learn so much more when discussing it one-on-one!

3. Don’t spread yourself too thin.

I have been involved with many clubs throughout my college career. Unfortunately, many of my commitments changed abruptly each semester due to spreading myself too thin. College is wonderful in that there are so many options for club and campus involvement, but that can also make it easy to overcommit when you have a variety of interests like I do.

My suggestion is to find a club or two that you are really passionate about and stick with it. Multiple years of involvement looks great on a resume, and will teach you life lessons that I will cover in a later blog post.

Already attended or are in college? What tips do you have for incoming freshmen? Share your experiences in the comment section below!

All the best,

Colette

P.S.

I regret not being able to post on my blog lately! Second semester senior year is rough.

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
bottom of page